CCAC Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee

CITIZENS COINAGE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

801 9TH STREET, NW WASHINGTON, DC 20220

United States Mint 801 9th Street NW Washington DC 20220 Minutes of CCAC Public Meeting (Videoconference) Tuesday, January 24, 2023 (1 pm-3 pm)

I. Attendance

- a. Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC) Members in Attendance by Videoconference:
 - Dr. Lawrence Brown (Chair)
 - Samuel Gill
 - Robin Salmon
 - Dennis Tucker
 - Dr. Peter Van Alfen
 - Arthur Bernstein
 - Dr. Harcourt Fuller
 - Donald Scarinci
 - Dr. Dean Kotlowski
 - Michael Moran
 - John Saunders
- b. Mint Officers and Staff in Attendance:
 - Ventris Gibson, Director, U.S. Mint
 - April Stafford, Chief, Office of Design Management
 - Megan Sullivan, Senior Design Specialist, Office of Design Management
 - Boneza Hanchock, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Pam Borer, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Roger Vasquez, Senior Design Specialist, Office of Design Management
 - Russell Evans, Design Manager, Office of Design Management
 - Jennifer Warren, Director of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs and Liaison to the CCAC
 - Joseph Menna, Chief Engraver
 - John Schorn, Chief Counsel
 - Robin Terry, Legal Counsel to the Harlem Hellfighters Congressional Gold Medal
 - Michael Costello, Manager, Design and Engraving
 - Brendan Tate, Senior Government Affairs Specialist, Office of Legislative and Intergovernmental Affairs
 - Mike White, Office of Corporate Communication
- c. Members of the Media in Attendance (virtual):
 - Mike Unser, Founder and Editor of Coin News Media Group, LLC
 - Paul Gilkes, Coin World Senior Editor, Amos Media

- d. Harlem Hellfighters Congressional Gold Medal Liaisons in Attendance:
 - Dr. Richard Harris, the John L. McMullen Professor of Humanities at Webb Institute in Glen Cove, NY and a member of the Board of Trustees and Chair of Exhibits Committee of the North Shore Historical Museum in Glen Cove, New York; and
 - Dr. Salter, retired U.S. Army Colonel and military and African American historian who currently serves as President of the Pritzker Military Museum and Library.

II. Minutes

- 1. Chair Brown, called the meeting to order at approximately 1:00 pm. Chair Brown took roll call and determined that the quorum was met. Attendance of media, Mint staff and officers, and liaisons was recognized.
- 2. Chair Brown recognized the past service of Ms. Mary Lannin as a member and former Chair of the CCAC. Her contributions continue to be embraced by the CCAC.
- 3. Following Chair Brown's brief introduction of Mr. John Saunders, Ms. Ventris Gibson, the Director of the United States Mint, administered the oath of office to John Saunders, a numismatist for over 30 years and who was appointed by Secretary Yellen on the recommendation of the then House Minority Leader, Kevin McCarthy.
- 4. It was noted that the original minutes incorrectly noted that Sam Gill was not in attendance on November 15, 2023 but a revised minutes had been sent to the members prior to the meeting. The revised minutes of the CCAC's November 15, 2022 meeting was approved unanimously via a motion from Dr. Peter Van Alfen, seconded by Mr. Arthur Bernstein.
- 5. The letter to the Secretary with the recommendations from the CCAC's November 15, 2022 meeting was approved unanimously via a motion from Dr. Peter Van Alfen, seconded by Mr. Sam Gill.
- 6. Chair Brown provided a summary of the fiscal year 2022 accomplishments as reflected in the fiscal year 2022 Annual report. In the five meetings in FY 2022, the CCAC reviewed 15 design portfolios for programs including three Congressional Gold Medals, five circulating coins, one bullion, and six numismatic products such as the American Innovation \$1 Coin and Native American \$1 Coin. Chair Brown also referred to officially saying good-bye to former CCAC members Tom Uram, Jeanne Stevens-Sollman, and Robert Hoge.
- 7. April Stafford, Chief, Office of Design Management, provided the background of *Public Law 117-38*, the Harlem Hellfighters Congressional Gold Medal Act. This Act awards a Congressional Gold Medal to the 369th Infantry Regiment, commonly known as the Harlem Hellfighters, in recognition of their bravery and outstanding service during World War I in the face of extraordinary racial discrimination.
- 8. The liaisons provided extensive comments related to the heroism of these soldiers and answered questions posed by CCAC members.
- 9. After the presentation of the obverse candidate designs and the reverse candidate designs, Mint staff and liaisons were asked if there were any legal, technical, or other considerations. A robust discussion of questions by CCAC members and answers provided by the liaisons.
- 10. With this background, each CCAC member provided comments regarding the obverse and reverse candidate designs. On a motion by Mr. Dennis Tucker, seconded by Dr. Peter Van Alfen, the CCAC approved the following recommendations for submission to the Treasury Secretary:
 - a. Obverse **HH-O-04**, preferred by the liaisons, inscription on HH-R- and depicts three uniformed WWI American infantrymen. This design was preferred by the liaisons.

- b. Reverse **HH-R-03**, removing the following inscriptions: 369TH INFANTRY REGIMENT," "LET'S GO," and "RATTLERS," while adding the ribbon at the top of the Croix de Guerre medal and revising the design of the rifle, if necessary.
- 11. On a motion by Mr. Dennis Tucker, seconded by Dr. Peter Van Alfen, the CCAC approved the recommendation that the American flag be placed on the left of reverse **HH-R-03**.
- 12. On a motion by Mr. Michael Moran, seconded by Mr. Dennis Tucker, the CCAC also approved the recommendation to modify the flag on reverse **HH-R-03** to reflect the flag as it existed at the time of World War 1.
- 13. Chair Brown thanked the Harlem Hellfighters liaisons for their participation and the invaluable information they provided.
- 14. As the CCAC had completed all matters scheduled for this meeting, Chair Brown expressed appreciation of the participation in this meeting by the public, the media, the Mint staff, and the CCAC members. Chair Brown announced the next public meeting is set for two days beginning on February 28, 2023 and will be announced in the Federal Register several weeks prior to the public meeting.
- 15. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 3:30 pm following a motion by Mr. Arthur Bernstein and seconded by Dr. Dean Kotlowski.